Column 2017 November 6

There are only two races left until the end of the 2017 Formula 1 season. With two races to go, we already have the driver who won the driver’s world championship and the team that won the constructors’ world championship. Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes have a lot to celebrate this season. On the other side of the coin are Sebastian Vettel and Ferrari. The Italian team is far from happy with the result of the season. Sergio Marchionne president of Ferrari has not hesitated to make some very harsh statements. He says that after a good first half of the season, the reasons why Ferrari has lost are technical problems and driver errors. The president of Ferrari knows that his team lost all their options in the second half of the season. Vettel crashed with Verstappen in Singapore, in Malaysia it was the engine and in Japan a spark plug. A lot of lost points that were key to the world championship. Especially knowing that Vettel arrived after the summer break as the championship leader, ahead of Lewis Hamilton.

But apparently, the result of the season is not the only thing that Marchionne and Ferrari have not liked. With Liberty as the new owner of Formula 1 and the changes in the sports series for 2021, the team has did not wait to warn that if Ferrari does not like the situation will not hesitate to stop participating in the championship. The team with the most wins and one of the most important teams in the history of Formula 1 does not want to lose their status and privileges. The standardization of parts of the car, the intention to limit budgets are some of the changes that could attract new brands to the competition. But this situation is not for Ferrari, so a new battle against Liberty begins.

The next stop of the season is the Brazilian Grand Prix. The Brazilians have to dismiss their driver Felipe Massa this weekend. He has announced his withdrawal from the competition. Last year he did it but decided to return at the request of the Williams team. The Brazilian driver will say goodbye to his audience in his last race at the Interlagos circuit as a Formula 1 driver after sixteen seasons he drove for teams such as Red Bull-Sauber (2002 and 2003), Sauber (2004), Ferrari (2005-2013) and Williams (2014-2017). Now we need to know which pilot will occupy his place next season.